What do SLC, MLC, TLC, and QLC mean?

This solution has been verified by our customers to fix the issue with these environment variables


Product Information & Documentation



What are you seeing?

Review differences between SLC, MLC, TLC and QLC.


This information applies for solid state drives based on NAND flash technology.

How to fix it:

NAND flash cells are categorized depending on the number of bits they can store:

  • Single-Level Cell (SLC) can store one bit per cell.
  • Multi-Level Cell (MLC) can store two bits per cell.
  • Triple-Level Cell (TLC) can store three bits per cell.
  • Quad-Level Cell (QLC) can store four bits per cell.

Drive's endurance is better towards SLC technology, while capacity is higher towards QLC SSDs technology.

Cause & More Information:

All postings and use of the content on this site are subject to Intel.com Terms of Use.