Intel® FPGAs & SoC FPGAs

Intel® FPGAs offer a wide variety of configurable embedded SRAM, high-speed transceivers, high-speed I/Os, logic blocks, and routing. Built-in intellectual property (IP) combined with outstanding software tools lower FPGA development time, power, and cost.

Intel® FPGAs & SoC FPGAs

Benefits of FPGAs

FPGA is a semiconductor IC where a large majority of the electrical functionality inside the device can be changed, changed by the design engineer, changed during the PCB assembly process, or even changed after the equipment has been shipped to customers out in the ‘field’.

Are You New to the World of FPGAs?

Read the free ebook FPGAs for Dummies to increase your understanding of FPGAs or check out other resources in ‘Getting Started’ to learn how to use/design with FPGAs.

Download the free eBook

Frequently Asked Questions About Intel® FPGAs & SOC FPGAs

FPGA or field programmable gate array is a semiconductor integrated circuit where electrical functionality is customized to accelerate key workloads.

SoC FPGA devices integrate both processor and FPGA architectures into a single device.

Integrating the high-level management functionality of processors and the stringent, real-time operations, extreme data processing, or interface functions of an FPGA (Field Programmable Gate Array) into a single device forms an even more powerful embedded computing platform.

Consequently, they provide higher integration, lower power, smaller board size, and higher bandwidth communication between the processor and FPGA. They also include a rich set of peripherals, on-chip memory, an FPGA-style logic array, and high speed transceivers.

Processors in SoC FPGAs can be “hard” or “soft." Hard processors are implemented in the fixed silicon logic of the SoC FPGA similar to serial transceivers. On SoC FPGAs, however, the processor is surrounded by programmable logic that you can use for custom or application-specific functions. Hard processors offer higher CPU performance than soft processors, depending on factors such as processor architecture, clock rate, and process technology. As the name implies, hard processor feature sets are fixed and typically offered only as a variation of a particular SoC FPGA. The number and type of hard processors within an SoC FPGA are also fixed as a function of that particular SoC FPGA. Altera® offers hard processors in Intel® Stratix® 10 SoC FPGA, Intel® Arria® 10 SoC FPGA, Arria® V SoC FPGA, and Cyclone® V SoC FPGA families.

Soft processors, such as the Nios® II processor, are implemented in programmable logic, use on-chip resources such as logic elements, multipliers, and memory, and can be instantiated in almost any FPGA family. The performance and cost of a soft processor depend mainly on the FPGA in which the processor is instantiated, but performance and cost are typically lower than in hard processors. The number of soft processors that can be instantiated in a single device is limited only by the device’s resources (that is, its logic and memory). High-density FPGAs, for example, can contain hundreds of soft processors. Likewise, different types of soft processors can be implemented: 16 or 32 bit, performance optimized, logic-area optimized, and so on. You can choose to migrate your soft processor designs to hard processor implementations when moving to gate arrays or cell-based designs. One or more soft processors can likewise be used in the FPGA portion of an SoC FPGA.

There are many ways to use FPGAs in an embedded system. Typical uses include:

  • I/O and peripheral expansion-Add peripherals missing from your current processor such as LCD or memory controllers, or increase the number of I/O channels in your system by adding Ethernet, general-purpose I/O (GPIO), or UART ports.
  • Coprocessing-Boost system performance by moving compute-intensive algorithms from software running on a processor to hardware in the FPGA. Signal processing, image processing, and packet processing applications achieve orders of magnitude performance improvement running in hardware rather than software.
  • Custom embedded controller-You decide which (and how many) processors, peripherals, interfaces, direct memory access (DMA) channels, and memories to include in your custom embedded controller.
  • Multiprocessor-Accelerate your software development, improve code reliability, and increase maintainability by distributing tasks across several CPUs. You can design a multiprocessor system as a custom system inside a single FPGA or to augment an external CPU or digital signal processor.

Subscribe to the Intel® FPGA Newsletter

Do you want the latest info about Intel® FPGAs, Programmable Accelerators, and power solutions? Looking for hot tips on training and tools? Click here to subscribe to the Intel Inside Edge Monthly Newsletter.

By submitting this form, you are confirming you are an adult 18 years or older and you agree to share your personal information with Intel to use for this business request. Intel's web sites and communications are subject to our Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.
By submitting this form, you are confirming you are an adult 18 years or older and you agree to share your personal information with Intel to use for this business request. You also agree to subscribe to stay connected to the latest Intel technologies and industry trends by email and telephone. You may unsubscribe at any time. Intel's web sites and communications are subject to our Privacy Notice and Terms of Use.

FPGA et FPGA SoC Intel®

Les FPGA Intel® offrent une grande variété de SRAM embarquées configurables, d'émetteurs-récepteurs à haut débit, d'E/S à haut débit, de blocs logiques et de routage. La propriété intellectuelle (IP) intégrée, associée à des outils logiciels exceptionnels, permet de réduire le temps, la puissance et le coût de développement des FPGA.

FPGA et FPGA SoC Intel®

Le FPGA (Field Programmable Gate Array) est un circuit intégré à semi-conducteurs dans lequel la fonctionnalité électrique est personnalisée pour accélérer les charges de travail essentielles.

Les dispositifs FPGA SoC intègrent des architectures de processeur et de FPGA dans un seul dispositif.

L'intégration de la fonctionnalité de gestion de haut niveau des processeurs et des opérations rigoureuses en temps réel, de traitement extrême des données, ou des fonctions d'interface d'un FPGA (Field Programmable Gate Array) dans un seul dispositif permet d'obtenir une plateforme informatique embarquée encore plus puissante.

Par conséquent, ils offrent une meilleure intégration, une faible puissance, une taille de carte réduite et une communication à bande passante plus élevée entre le processeur et le FPGA. Ils disposent également de nombreux périphériques, d'une mémoire sur puce, d'un réseau logique de type FPGA et d'émetteurs-récepteurs à haut débit.

Les processeurs des FPGA SoC peuvent être « matériels » ou « logiciels ». Les processeurs matériels sont mis en œuvre dans la logique de silicium fixe du FPGA SoC, comme les émetteurs-récepteurs en série. Dans les FPGA SoC, en revanche, le processeur est entouré d'une logique programmable que vous pouvez utiliser pour des fonctions personnalisées ou spécifiques à une application. Les processeurs matériels offrent des performances supérieures à celles des processeurs logiciels, en fonction de facteurs tels que l'architecture du processeur, la fréquence d'horloge et la gravure. Comme leur nom l'indique, les fonctionnalités des processeurs matériels sont fixes et ne sont généralement proposées qu'en tant que variante d'un FPGA SoC spécifique. Le nombre et le type de processeurs matériels présents dans un FPGA SoC sont également fixés en fonction de ce FPGA SoC. Altera® propose des processeurs matériels dans les familles FPGA SoC Intel® Stratix® 10, FPGA SoC Intel® Arria® 10, FPGA SoC Arria® V et FPGA SoC Cyclone® V.

Les processeurs logiciels, comme le processeur Nios® II, sont mis en œuvre dans une logique programmable, utilisent des ressources sur puce comme les éléments logiques, les multiplicateurs et la mémoire, et peuvent être instanciés dans presque toutes les familles de FPGA. Les performances et le coût d'un processeur logiciel dépendent essentiellement du FPGA dans lequel le processeur est instancié, mais ils sont généralement inférieurs à ceux des processeurs matériels. Le nombre de processeurs logiciels qui peuvent être instanciés dans un seul dispositif n'est limité que par les ressources de ce dispositif (c'est-à-dire sa logique et sa mémoire). Les FPGA à haute densité, par exemple, peuvent contenir des centaines de processeurs logiciels. De même, différents types de processeurs logiciels peuvent être mis en œuvre : 16 ou 32 bits, optimisés pour les performances, optimisés pour une zone logique, etc. Vous pouvez décider de faire évoluer vos processeurs logiciels vers des processeurs matériels en passant aux réseaux de portes ou aux circuits cellulaires. Un ou plusieurs processeurs logiciels peuvent également être utilisés dans la partie FPGA d'un FPGA SoC.

Il existe de nombreuses façons d'utiliser les FPGA dans un système embarqué. Les exemples les plus courants sont :

  • Extension des E/S et des périphériques : ajoutez des périphériques absents de votre processeur actuel, tels que des contrôleurs LCD ou de mémoire, ou augmentez le nombre de canaux d'E/S dans votre système en ajoutant des ports Ethernet, d'E/S à usage général (GPIO) ou UART.
  • Co-traitement : améliorez les performances du système en déplaçant les algorithmes de calcul intensif du logiciel s'exécutant sur un processeur vers le matériel du FPGA. Les applications de traitement des signaux, des images et des paquets améliorent considérablement leurs performances lorsqu'elles sont exécutées sur le matériel plutôt que sur le logiciel.
  • Contrôleur embarqué personnalisé : vous décidez des processeurs, des périphériques, des interfaces, des canaux d'accès direct à la mémoire (DMA) et des mémoires à intégrer dans votre contrôleur embarqué personnalisé (et de leur nombre).
  • Multiprocesseur : accélérez le développement de vos logiciels, renforcez la fiabilité du code et améliorez la maintenabilité en répartissant les tâches sur plusieurs processeurs. Vous pouvez concevoir un système multiprocesseur comme un système personnalisé dans un seul FPGA ou pour renforcer un processeur externe ou un processeur de signaux numériques.

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter Intel® FPGA

Voulez-vous obtenir les dernières informations sur les FPGA Intel®les accélérateurs programmables et les solutions d'alimentation ? Vous cherchez des conseils sur la formation et les outils ? Cliquez ici pour vous abonner à la lettre d'information mensuelle Intel Inside Edge.

En envoyant ce formulaire, vous confirmez que vous avez plus de 18 ans et que vous acceptez de partager vos renseignements personnels avec Intel aux fins de traiter cette demande commerciale. Les sites Web et les communications d'Intel sont soumis à notre Politique de confidentialité et à nos Conditions d'utilisation.
En envoyant ce formulaire, vous confirmez que vous avez plus de 18 ans et que vous acceptez de partager vos renseignements personnels avec Intel aux fins de traiter cette demande commerciale. Vous acceptez aussi de vous abonner pour être tenu au courant des dernières technologies Intel et des tendances de l'industrie par e-mail et par téléphone. Vous pouvez résilier votre abonnement à tout moment. Les sites Web et les communications d'Intel sont soumis à notre Politique de confidentialité et à nos Conditions d'utilisation.