Wi-Fi 7: The Next Era in Wireless

Consumers will soon experience a quantum leap in wireless performance. From 8K streaming video to immersive VR experiences, users around the world will enjoy all-new levels of increased speed and reduced latency. Wi-Fi 7: Coming soon to a device near you.

Leading the Way in Wi-Fi

Wi-Fi has helped keep the world informed, entertained, and productive. This was made possible through IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) industry standards and the extensive device interoperability and certification testing of the WFA (Wi-Fi Alliance). Intel is proud to lead in both groups, driving the continuous evolution of Wi-Fi—including its next generation, Wi-Fi 7, based on features defined in the IEEE P802.11be draft amendment.

Key Features of Wi-Fi 7

Wi-Fi 7 Deep Dive

Watch Intel's Carlos Cordeiro PhD, Wireless CTO and Intel Fellow, deliver this informative lecture on Wi-Fi 7.

Compare Wi-Fi Generations

See how Wi-Fi 7 stacks up to earlier Wi-Fi generations.

 

Wi-Fi 5 ( 802.11ac)

Wi-Fi 6 ( 802.11ax)

Wi-Fi 6E ( 802.11ax)

Wi-Fi 7 ( 802.11be)

Frequency

5GHz

Dual-band (2.4 GHz, 5 GHz)

Tri-band (2.4, 5, 6 GHz)

Bandwidth

(Channels)

20, 40 , 80, 80+80, 160MHz

20, 40 , 80, 80+80, 160, 320MHz

Access

(Multiplexing)

OFDM

OFDMA

Modulation

254QAM

1024QAM

4096 (4K) QAM

Antenna

DL MU-MIMO (4 x 4)

DL + UL MU-MIMO (8 x 8)

Security

WPA2

WPA3

WPA4 (TBD)

Key Innovations

40MHz mandatory

TWT, BSS coloring, Beamforming

Multi Link Operation (MLO),
Multi-RU, Puncturing

FAQs

Frequently Asked Questions

Wi-Fi 7 addresses the needs of people around the world, as they will quickly evolve over the next few years, as each gen builds on its predecessor. Wi-Fi ‘s key benefits, including consistent ultra-low latency and improved performance in dense environments, are expected to serve these developing usages: 8K A/V Streaming, AR/VR, Cloud gaming, interactive applications, Industrial IoT and Industry 4.0, tele-diagnostics and telesurgery.

Intel will continue to bring market-leading connectivity solutions to consumers and businesses, as it has in all previous Wi-Fi generations. Intel plans to release Wi-Fi 7-certified products to the market, in alignment with the Wi-Fi Alliance certification schedule (2023–2024 time frame).

Available Wi-Fi releases vary by country. Wi-Fi 4, Wi-Fi 5, Wi-Fi 6, and Wi-Fi 6E are widely available across the globe. The Wi-Fi 6E release, which provides access to the 6 GHz spectrum, is rapidly gaining traction and has been adopted by dozens of countries, as of June 2022.1

Wi-Fi generations are based on features defined by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) as the 802.11 family of standards. Intel’s team of leading Wi-Fi experts have actively participated in the IEEE 802.11 working group for decades, serving in key roles such as technical editor to 802.11n (Wi-Fi 4), 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5) and 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6/6E). The Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA) leads the industry’s interoperability testing, effectively certifying devices that have passed testing and defining which devices can obtain the Wi-Fi CERTIFIED certification mark. Intel’s Wi-Fi devices have been selected as part of the WFA industry-wide testbed, for every previous Wi-Fi gen. Intel is a sponsor member of WFA, and, as of 2022, Dr. Carlos Cordeiro of Intel is the elected WFA Board Chair.

Wi-Fi generations are based on features defined by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) as the 802.11 family of standards. Intel’s team of leading Wi-Fi experts have actively participated in the IEEE 802.11 working group for decades, serving in key roles such as technical editor to 802.11n (Wi-Fi 4), 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5) and 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6/6E). The Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA) leads the industry’s interoperability testing, effectively certifying devices that have passed testing and defining which devices can obtain the Wi-Fi CERTIFIED certification mark. Intel’s Wi-Fi devices have been selected as part of the WFA industry-wide testbed, for every previous Wi-Fi gen. Intel is a sponsor member of WFA, and, as of 2022, Dr. Carlos Cordeiro of Intel is the elected WFA Board Chair.

Notices and Disclaimers2

Product and Performance Information

1

“Countries Enabling Wi-Fi 6e”, Wi-Fi Alliance, June 2022 (https://www.wi-fi.org/countries-enabling-wi-fi-6e).

2

">5 Gbps Wi-Fi 7 2x2 client speed” - is based on the current draft of the 802.11be specification which specifies the theoretical maximum data rate for a 2x2 device that supports 320 MHz channels, 4096 QAM, and Multi-Link Operation is 5.76 Gbps. Based on an industry-standard assumption of 90% efficiency for new Wi-Fi products operating in the exclusive 6 GHz band, the resulting estimated maximum over the air 2x2 client speed would be 5.19 Gbps.

Wi-Fi 7 : la prochaine ère du sans fil

Les consommateurs bénéficieront bientôt d'une avancée majeure en matière de performances sans fil. Du streaming de vidéos 8K à des expériences RV immersives, les utilisateurs du monde entier vont pouvoir profiter de vitesses accrues et d'une latence réduite. Wi-Fi 7 : bientôt disponible sur un appareil près de chez vous.

Ouvrir la voie en matière de Wi-Fi

Le Wi-Fi a permis au monde de s'informer, de se divertir et d'être productif. Cela a été rendu possible grâce aux normes IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) et aux tests poussés de certification et d'interopérabilité des appareils de la WFA (Wi-Fi Alliance). Intel est fière de sa position de leader dans les deux groupes où l'entreprise favorise l'évolution continue du Wi-Fi, et notamment de sa nouvelle génération : le Wi-Fi 7, qui repose sur des fonctionnalités définies dans la version provisoire de l'amendement IEEE P802.11be.

Principales caractéristiques du Wi-Fi 7

Présentation approfondie du Wi-Fi 7

Regardez cette présentation sur le Wi-Fi 7 par Dr. Carlos Cordeiro, Wireless CTO et Intel Fellow chez Intel.

Comparer les générations Wi-Fi

Découvrez une comparaison du Wi-Fi 7 avec les générations Wi-Fi antérieures.

Wi-Fi 5 (802.11ac)

Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax)

Wi-Fi 6E (802.11ax)

Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be)

Fréquence

5GHz

Double bande (2,4 GHz, 5 GHz)

Tri-bande (2,4, 5, 6 GHz)

Bande passante

Canaux

20, 40, 80, 80+80, 160 MHz

20, 40, 80, 80+80, 160, 320 MHz

Accès

(Multiplexing)

OFDM

OFDMA

Modulation

254QAM

1024QAM

4096 (4K) QAM

Antenne

DL MU-MIMO (4 x 4)

DL + UL MU-MIMO (8 x 8)

Sécurité

WPA2

Le WPA3

WPA4 (TBD)

Innovations clés

40 MHz obligatoire

TWT, coloration BSS, Beamforming

Opération multi-liaison (MLO),
Multi-RU, Puncturing

FAQ

Forum aux questions

Le Wi-Fi 7 répond aux besoins des gens du monde entier, car ils vont évoluer rapidement au cours des prochaines années, alors que chaque génération s'appuie sur la précédente. Les avantages clés du Wi-Fi, notamment une latence ultra-faible constante et des performances améliorées dans les environnements denses, devraient être utiles pour les cas d'utilisation suivants : streaming audio/vidéo en 8K, AR/VR, jeux Cloud, applications interactives, IoT industriel et Industrie 4.0, télédiagnostics et téléchirurgie.

Intel va continuer à apporter des solutions de connectivité de pointe aux consommateurs et aux entreprises, comme elle l'a fait avec toutes les générations Wi-Fi précédentes. Intel prévoit de commercialiser des produits certifiés Wi-Fi 7 conformément au calendrier de certification de la Wi-Fi Alliance (période 2023-2024).

Les versions Wi-Fi disponibles varient en fonction du pays. Le Wi-Fi 4, le Wi-Fi 5, le Wi-Fi 6 et le Wi-Fi 6E sont largement disponibles dans le monde entier. La version Wi-Fi 6E, qui permet d'accéder au spectre 6 GHz, gagne rapidement en popularité et avait déjà été adoptée par des dizaines de pays en juin 2022.1

Les générations Wi-Fi sont basées sur des fonctionnalités définies par l'IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) comme la famille de normes 802.11. L'équipe d'experts Wi-Fi de premier plan de chez Intel participe activement au groupe de travail IEEE 802.11 depuis des décennies, et assume des rôles clés comme celui d'éditeur technique 802.11n (Wi-Fi 4), 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5) et 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6/6E). La Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA) est à la tête des tests d'interopérabilité du secteur, émettant des certificats pour les appareils qui ont réussi les tests et définissant quels appareils peuvent obtenir la marque de certification Wi-Fi CERTIFIED. Les appareils Wi-Fi d'Intel ont été sélectionné dans le cadre du banc d'essai WFA à l'échelle du secteur pour toutes les générations Wi-Fi précédentes. Intel est un membre sponsor de la WFA et en 2022, le Dr Carlos Cordeiro de chez Intel était président du conseil de la WFA.

Les générations Wi-Fi sont basées sur des fonctionnalités définies par l'IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) comme la famille de normes 802.11. L'équipe d'experts Wi-Fi de premier plan de chez Intel participe activement au groupe de travail IEEE 802.11 depuis des décennies, et assume des rôles clés comme celui d'éditeur technique 802.11n (Wi-Fi 4), 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5) et 802.11ax (Wi-Fi 6/6E). La Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA) est à la tête des tests d'interopérabilité du secteur, émettant des certificats pour les appareils qui ont réussi les tests et définissant quels appareils peuvent obtenir la marque de certification Wi-Fi CERTIFIED. Les appareils Wi-Fi d'Intel ont été sélectionné dans le cadre du banc d'essai WFA à l'échelle du secteur pour toutes les générations Wi-Fi précédentes. Intel est un membre sponsor de la WFA et en 2022, le Dr Carlos Cordeiro de chez Intel était président du conseil de la WFA.

Avis et avertissements2

Infos sur le produit et ses performances

1

« Countries Enabling Wi-Fi 6e », Wi-Fi Alliance, juin 2022 (https://www.wi-fi.org/countries-enabling-wi-fi-6e).

2

« > Wi-Fi 7 5 Gbit/s, vitesse du client 2x2 » - est basé sur la version actuelle de la caractéristique 802.11be qui spécifie le débit de données maximal théorique pour un appareil 2x2 qui prend en charge les canaux 320 MHz, 4096 QAM, et l'opération multi-liaison est 5,76 Gbit/s. Sur la base d'une hypothèse standard de l'industrie prévoyant une efficacité de 90 % pour les nouveaux produits Wi-Fi fonctionnant sur la bande exclusive des 6 GHz, la vitesse maximale estimée des clients 2x2 par voie hertzienne serait de 5,19 Gbit/s.